IN BLISS, BEAUTY & STYLE


 Only God knows that if I successfully leave this place without going partially deaf, it’ll be but a miracle. My head aches now, I shall tell you why. I walked in here, of course my first time (not that I’ll admit that on national T.V) on a morning whose weather I must admit was overwhelming. The clouds had gotten so dark I thought the gods must be angry or something. And when it rained, it poured elephants and hippos, causing floods to rear their liquid heads up but I still got here.

The building looked like a tent with windows, like an event house which I went to the previous day for a wedding. When I stepped into the tenth, I felt a gust of fresh cold air giving me that harmattan feeling. My blue attire glimmered due to the lights from above in celestial radiance like clothe made with diamond threads if there were such. As I walked in, enormous praise worship befell my being, for a few seconds I felt like a lion splashed with cold water. The keys were melodious, the strings Carlos Santanious, the drums just went kpati kpa ti-kpa ti kpa ti and on and on. The baseline made my ear drums and belly vibrate as if I were on the floor of a swimming pool. The sound was in high decibels, I pondered; if all the numerous places of worship in the world gave off this kind of sound then God must be God to be able to manage all that comes to his hearing. Was I to be left in a room with such sound lunacy, will I not hemorrhage and bleed through the nose as a time and space continuum traveler would?

My headache persisted so I tried to blur out sounds and observe other things, just then my eyes caught something on stage, a T-mobile-like orange web backdrop, save for the web which was of circles rather than pentagons. It was a theme so beautiful and exceptional. Right in front of it were white strobe lights like those you see in a club, a casual spot of tiny red and green lights which came on and off randomly on the ceiling giving it some miragic effect. A single and a double set of cushion sat at the right part of the stage with a flower as demarcation reminding me of the couch Tom Cruise jumped on in ecstasy in one episode of the Oprah Winfrey show. Yet as I watched, my ears were on fire, for a lady with a color mask of pancakes sang a delectable praise song in such high pitches and sweet melancholics. If such voices were to be translated into tickets to heaven, then this lady has just booked herself on a 1st class plane bound for the holy place. My skin was now dry, my breath stale due to the free air-conditioning, and need I remind myself to come with a mattress the next time. I loved this place, this church, “worshiping God in style”.

I felt butterflies in my stomach coming out of reverb and screaming “brass monkeys” in exclamation to the angels which I saw flying low. All were not dressed in white nor did they have wings, rather they were clad in beautiful well pressed clothing with high heel shoes and accessories to match. Were they to be computer software, I’d say they were of different versions which even the boys at Silicon Valley haven’t thought about. With this kind of bliss abound, I do not mind going to church every day. As time went by, I was lost in worship, with my eyes closed, I felt love, lover and lovest, a kind of love stronger than the love I feel for myself, my family and M.O.M my little niece all put together. It was the love of God which made my body feverish and soar as my skin developed goose pimples. Right then I knew I was in the presence of God himself the great one, I loved the feeling and I wished for it every day.

If I had this every day of my life, who knew what It would bring? As I considered this, I pondered another angle of it for this place I dare to tag “The Fort Knox of beauties” mostly single was a place for me yes, but not for my ‘alter self’. Yet I say, who says heaven is not beautiful for every look I took, left, right, I was overwhelmed and I kept whispering to myself; “Oh God, Oh God, marvelous, marvelous, quite delectable”. If the girl I love were to see such beauties abound which made my eyes water and my heart flutter, she’d come with a thousand Spartans to ban me from coming here I tell you. I sat down outside under a canopy after the service to feed my eyes. I watched some of the angels take off and more come down. I looked calm, but within I was rattled, and I felt like a fat kid in a supermarket of goodies; chocolates and what not all placed behind bars beyond his reach. I felt his sadness; I felt his plight, his depression and the pain in his heart watching the goodies beyond reach, not being able to touch, to feel, to taste. I felt like I was in prison, my alter self did. Yet I snapped out of this as my other self took over, with a sheepish smile across my face I thought, “This is a place of worship in beauty and style, it’s a place I would love to come every day”, that is my alter self actually speaking.

Leave a comment